Welcome to Inman Park…

When I worked on the September/October issue of the AJC‘s Living Intown magazine I had the chance to photograph some very cool Atlanta landmarks and venues in Inman Park and the Old Fourth Ward through the eyes of a newcomer.  It’s amazing the beautiful details we can miss about the sights we regularly pass in our daily rush. Inman Park, Atlanta’s “first suburb”, is one of those nuanced areas in-town. It’s such a unique combination of historic buildings, hip shops and restaurants and diverse people.

One of Inman Park’s  earliest attractions was proximity to downtown. Well-heeled residents could get there in just a trolley ride. The trolley barn still stands intact.

My walking tour spanned historical landmarks, trendy shops, artisan restaurants and great hang out spots. It struck me that Inman Park is a great example of community preservation in a truly active sense–not for the sole sake of admiring historical artifacts, but for the good of the people who live in and love the community today.  The fabulous Victorian may be the most striking of architectural styles that you see in Inman Park, but Colonial Revival,  Jacobean Revival, bungalow and Shingle style buildings proudly flank Atlanta’s painted ladies throughout the neighborhood. What a feast for my camera!

These welcoming front porches are some of the many where neighbors and families have chatted and sipped coffee for well over a century.

Speaking of coffee, I got to visit some neighborhood eateries like Juliannna’s Coffee & Crepes. Julianna’s combines a vintage setting with yummy crepes made from local ingredients like Georgia jams. A reviewer on Yelp summed it up perfectly for me: “It’s like a tavern-y joint carved out of a market carved out of a creperie in the heart of Inman. Sweet awesomeness.”

Another great spot combining the historic and the hip is PARISH. It’s located in the one structure still standing from an old pipe factory built in 1890. Good food at mid-tier prices and a rustic design make this a place I’d like to spend some time.  I can say the same for The Albert, which is definitely on the list for a future brew and a game.
I can’t end my ravings about Inman Park without a nod to the shopping. A good way to find an afternoon of shopping bliss is at City Issue Atlanta (technically in the Old Fourth Ward). The shop is a treasure trove of mid-century style furnishings and accessories.

My exploration of the many things “Living Intown” can mean isn’t ending anytime soon, and I look forward to sharing what I find on my adventures! Thanks to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution, the shop owners and everyone in Inman Park who opened their doors to me.

Leave a Reply

